Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver — Book Review!!

Standard

Today I started and finished a great book!(I do that alot [: ) I thought I would share!

Before I Fall is a beautifully, spine-tingling book. Samantha “Sam” Kingston has it all. She’s popular with great friends, a “to-die-for” boyfriend and is invited to all the parties. February 12th should be just another day in her perfect life. But it turns out to be her last.
Falling through the darkness, however, she wakes up the next morning. She’ll live her chilling last day seven times. In this week, she’ll learn everything she’s overlooked and the number of people she’s affected in her short time. In a race against time, Sam will figure out what really matters,and how she can fix what she’s broken. The ending of this novel is both brave and heartbreaking.

The most common complaint I’ve seen for this book is “the characters are mean and popular” or “I had no sympathy for the main characers for what they’ve done”. In my opinion, that was the point. The ending of Before I Fall is to show how your own personal actions, no matter the motives, can affect those around you so negatively. It shows that we need to think before we spread a rumor, or do  something terrible to someone else.

This intense, raw and emotional book will leave you to really think about your life. I think that the author, Lauren Oliver put it best in Before I Fall:

“Maybe you can afford to wait. Maybe for you there’s a tomorrow. Maybe for you there’s one thousand tomorrows, or three thousand, or ten, so much time you can bathe in it, roll around in it, let it slide like coins through your fingers. So much time you can waste it.
But for some of us, there’s only today. And the truth is, you never really know.”

Image

Leave a comment